STATUS IN RELATION TO THE INTERNATIONAL UNION FOR THE PROTECTION OF NEW VARIETIES OF PLANTS (UPOV)

as of February 27, 2025

I. Members of UPOV

Costa Rica² Trinidad and Tobago¹ Italy1 Paraguay¹ African Intellectual Property Organization^{2, 4} Japan² Croatia² Peru² Tunisia² Czech Republic² Jordan² Poland² Albania² Türkiye² Denmark² Kenya² Portugal¹ Argentina¹ Ukraine² Kyrgyzstan² Dominican Republic² Republic of Korea² Armenia^{2,} United Kingdom² Ecuador¹ Latvia² Republic of Moldova² Australia² United Republic of Tanzania²

Austria² Egypt² Lithuania² Romania² United Republic of Tanzar
Azerbaijan² Estonia² Mexico¹ Russian Federation² United States of America²
Belarus² European Union^{2, 3} Montenegro² Saint Vincent and the Uruguay¹

(Total 80)

Belarus² Uzbekistan² Finland² Morocco² Grenadines² Belgium² France² Netherlands (Kingdom of)2 Serbia² Viet Nam² Bolivia (Plurinational State of)1 Georgia² New Zealand1 Singapore² Bosnia and Herzegovina² Germany² Nicaragua¹ Slovakia² Brazil1

Bulgaria² Ghana² Nigeria^{2, 5} Slovenia²
Canada² Hungary² North Macedonia² South Africa¹
Chile¹ Iceland² Norway¹ Spain²

China¹ Ireland² Oman² Sweden² Colombia¹ Israel² Panama² Switzerland²

¹ 1978 Act is the latest Act by which 17 States are bound.

II. States and intergovernmental organizations which have initiated the procedure for acceding to the UPOV Convention

States (18):

Afghanistan, Brunei Darussalam, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mongolia, Myanmar, Philippines, Tajikistan, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) and Zimbabwe

Organization (1):

African Regional Intellectual Property Organization (ARIPO)

(member States of ARIPO (22): Botswana, Cabo Verde, Eswatini, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe)

III. States and intergovernmental organizations which have been in contact with the Office of the Union for assistance in the development of laws based on the UPOV Convention

States (28):

Algeria, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahrain, Barbados, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cuba, Cyprus, El Salvador, Gambia, Indonesia, Iraq, Libya, Liechtenstein, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Pakistan, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Sudan, Suriname, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkmenistan and Zambia

Organization (1):

Southern African Development Community (SADC)

(member States of SADC (15): Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe)



34, chemin des Colombettes, CH-1211 Geneva 20 (Switzerland)

telephone: (+41-22) 338 91 11 — telefax: (+41-22) 733 03 36 e-mail: upov.mail@upov.int — internet: http://www.upov.int

² 1991 Act is the latest Act by which 61 States and 2 organizations are bound.

Operates a plant breeders' rights system which covers the territory of its 27 member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands (Kingdom of), Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden).

Operates a plant breeders' rights system which covers the territory of its 17 member States (Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal, Togo).

⁵ Nigeria will become bound by the 1991 Act on March 27, 2025.